New Greater Chennai District Map Zones, Taluks, Revenue Villages in 2018

Chennai boundaries now compared to that of the Greater Chennai Corporation. The step is likely to aid residents get a different services simply. However, questions stay over staff strength and files pendency. A stretched Chennai dist., sprawled over 426 square kilometer and including 122 revenue villages, was uncovered by CM Edappadi K. Palaniswami at the place of Fort St. George here on Thursday.

Up on expanding, the district that increase for about 178 sq. km. has more than two times in shape and its boundaries similar to that of the Greater Chennai Corpn.

With this step, sixty seven revenue villages from Kancheepuram & Tiruvallur districts have been comprised to Chennai district, that had fifty five villages. Together 122 villages will be formed under 3 revenue zones namely North Chennai, Central Chennai & South Chennai.

The North Chennai zone is of Tondiarpet, Madhavaram, Tiruvottiyur, Perambur & Purasawalkam taluks with thirty two revenue villages. The HO is located at Tondiarpet.

The Central Chennai zone having head office at Ambattur, will comprise Maduravoyal, Mambalam, Ayanavaram, Aminjikarai, and Egmore taluks with forty seven revenue villages.

The South Chennai zone with its head office at Guindy includes 43 revenue villages spread in the taluks of Mylapore, Velachery, Guindy, Alandur and Sholinganallur.

The revenue offices & employees will stay whereever they are but documents of fresh areas currently in the Kancheepuram & Tiruvallur District Collectors offices will be bring down to the Chennai Collector’s office.

The district expansion will guide in quickly offerings services to residents in freshly added places. The advantages are particularly likely in areas like medical facilities, employment recruitment, education, revenue & disaster management, election-associated work, law & order problems, social security schemes & land-integrated programmes.

The Chief Minister also introduced online services enabled websites wherein field measurement sketches and block maps in forty three taluks in twenty one districts have been updated in computer in the 1st phase.

The digitizing of field measurement sketches and block maps for urban areas with COLLABLAND software started in the district of Perambalur in the year 2004 and of the total 55.33 lakh sketches, 54.12 lakh sketches have been computerized.

The remaining maps digitization is anticipated to be finished within the month of June.

Here are the Greater Chennai Graphic points

  • Previous Chennai district is 178 sq. km.
  • Present Chennai district is 426
  • Present taluks in chennai district is 16
  • Total number of revenue villages in present chennai district is 122
  • North Chennai zone has 32 revenue villages in 5 taluks
  • Central Chennai zone has 47 revenue villages in 6 taluks
  • South Chennai zone has 43 revenue villages in 5 taluks
Comment Box is loading comments...


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *